29th Annual Conference of the European Society for Biomaterials (ESB 2018) in Maastricht

Gruppenfoto der Teilnehmer vom Lehrstuhl Biomaterialien bei der ESB 2018 in Maastricht.

Our Institute had a large representation and visibility at the 29th Annual Conference of the _European Society for Biomaterials (ESB) , held in Maastricht, Netherlands, on 9 – 13 September 2018, chaired by Prof. Pamela Habibovic, University of Maastricht. Prof. Boccaccini was a member of the International Advisory Committee of the conference and he was involved as keynote speaker in two special symposia, namely “Biomaterials based on colloidal building blocks”, sponsored by the Netherlands Society for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering and hosted by Prof. Sander Leeuwenburgh, Radboud University Medical Center, and “Drug-free antibacterial hybrid biopolymers for medical applications”, a special symposium of the EU ETN project “HyMedPoly”.

Prof. Boccaccini also co-chaired the session “Jean Leray Award 2018 ” together with Prof. L. Ambrosio (former ESB president (pictured) (award winner: Prof. Amir Zadpoor, Delft University of Technology). Dr. Liliana Liverani presented the lecture: “Future trends in the electrospinning technique: The importance of using benign solvents” in the session “Electrospinning techniques and applications”.

Moreover five PhD students of the Institute of Biomaterials, namely Lukas Gritsch, Agata Lapa, Maqbool Muhammad, Binh Phan (Hana) and Seray Kaya (pictured with Prof. Boccaccini) presented posters with the latest results of their projects in the framework of the HyMedPoly EU network.

Other posters were presented by Dr. Kai Zheng (senior researcher) and Ms Jingjing Wu, Ms Jennifer Hermann and Ms Andrea Rincon (visiting PhD students in our Institute) (pictured with Prof. Boccaccini).

Professor Boccaccini is a member of the ESB Council http://www.esbiomaterials.eu/Cms/Content/5 and in this capacity he is the liaison officer for the ESB journal “Biomaterials Science” and with the Young Scientists Forum (YSF).